Special Offer

Try Betterteam for FREE

Send jobs to 100+ job boards with one submission

Post Jobs for FREE
  • Completely free trial, no card required.
  • Reach over 250 million candidates.

Final Paycheck Laws by State:

State

Employee is Fired

Employee Quits

Alabama

No law.

No law.

Alaska

Within three working days of termination.

On the next scheduled payday.

Arizona

Within seven working days, or on the next payday. Whichever occurs first.

On the next scheduled payday.

Arkansas

On the next scheduled payday.

No law.

California

Final pay must be granted at the time of termination.

Within 72 hours, unless prior notice has been provided.

Colorado

Final paycheck must be given to employee immediately.

On the next scheduled payday.

Connecticut

The next business day.

On the next scheduled payday.

Delaware

On the next scheduled payday.

On the next scheduled payday.

District of Columbia

The next business day.

On the next scheduled payday, or within seven days - whichever comes first.

Florida

No law.

No law.

Georgia

No law.

No law.

Hawaii

Immediately or on the next business day if necessary.

On the next scheduled payday, or at the time of quitting if prior notice has been provided.

Idaho

On the next scheduled payday, or within 10 days, whichever occurs first.

On the next scheduled payday, or within 10 days, whichever occurs first.

Illinois

Immediately, if possible, but no later than the next scheduled payday.

Immediately, if possible, but no later than the next scheduled payday.

Indiana

On the next scheduled payday.

On the next scheduled payday.

Iowa

On the next scheduled payday.

On the next scheduled payday.

Kansas

On the next scheduled payday.

On the next scheduled payday.

Kentucky

On the next scheduled payday or within 14 days, which ever occurs later.

On the next scheduled payday or within 14 days, whichever occurs later.

Louisiana

On the next scheduled payday or within 15 days, which ever occurs earlier.

On the next scheduled payday or within 15 days, whichever occurs earlier.

Maine

On the next scheduled payday.

On the next scheduled payday.

Maryland

On the next scheduled payday.

On the next scheduled payday.

Massachusetts

Final check must be provided immediately.

On the next scheduled payday, or on the Saturday following an employee's resignation.

Michigan

On the next scheduled payday.

On the next scheduled payday.

Minnesota

Final check must be provided immediately.

On the next scheduled payday, or on the following payday if the next one is less than 5 days away, but within 20 days of separation.

Mississippi

No law.

No law.

Missouri

Final paycheck must be provided immediately.

No law.

Montana

Final paycheck must be provided immediately.

On the next scheduled payday, or within 15 days, whichever is earlier.

Nebraska

On the next scheduled payday or within 2 weeks, whichever occurs first.

On the next scheduled payday or within 2 weeks, whichever occurs first.

Nevada

Final paycheck must be provided within three days.

On the next scheduled payday or within 7 days, whichever occurs first.

New Hampshire

Within 72 hours.

On the next payday or within 72 hours if prior notice was given.

New Jersey

On the next scheduled payday.

On the next scheduled payday.

New Mexico

Within 5 days.

On the next scheduled payday.

New York

On the next scheduled payday.

On the next scheduled payday.

North Carolina

On the next scheduled payday.

On the next scheduled payday.

North Dakota

On the next scheduled payday.

On the next scheduled payday.

Ohio

On the first day of the month for wages that were earned in the first half of the previous month, or on the 15th day of the month for wages earned in the second half of the previous month.

On the first day of the month for wages that were earned in the first half of the previous month, or on the 15th day of the month for wages earned in the second half of the previous month.

Oklahoma

On the next scheduled payday.

On the next scheduled payday.

Oregon

By the end of the next business day.

Immediately if the employee has provided 48 hours notice. With less than 48 hours notice, within 5 days or on next payday, whichever occurs first.

Pennsylvania

On the next scheduled payday.

On the next scheduled payday.

Rhode Island

On the next scheduled payday.

On the next scheduled payday.

South Carolina

Within 48 hours, or on the next scheduled payday. which may not exceed 30 days.

Within 48 hours, or on the next scheduled payday. which may not exceed 30 days.

South Dakota

On the next scheduled payday or when employer's property is returned.

On the next scheduled payday or when the employer's property is returned.

Tennessee

On the next scheduled payday or within 21 days, whichever is later.

On the next scheduled payday or within 21 days, whichever is later.

Texas

Within 6 days.

On the next scheduled payday.

Utah

Within 24 hours.

On the next scheduled payday.

Vermont

Within 72 hours.

On the next scheduled payday, or if there is no regular payday, on the following Friday.

Virginia

On the next scheduled payday.

On the next scheduled payday.

Washington

On the next scheduled payday.

On the next scheduled payday.

West Virginia

On the next scheduled payday.

On the next scheduled payday.

Wisconsin

On the next scheduled payday.

On the next scheduled payday.

Wyoming

On the next scheduled payday.

On the next scheduled payday.

FAQs:

How long does an employer have to give you your last check?

It depends. If an employee is fired, the employer may wait until the next payday. However, if an employee resigns, typically employers will have to pay within 72 hours.

Are employers required to mail final paychecks?

It depends on your state laws and your personal preferences. However, typically an employer is not required to only mail final paychecks. Paychecks can be given by hand, deposited automatically, or mailed.

Can final paychecks be directly deposited?

Yes, it can. However, if your employer only has 72 hours to pay, the deposit may come in late.

Can an employer withhold pay if an employee quit without notice?

No employer can legally refuse to pay you what you are owed when you quit. However, the timing of your final paycheck depends on the governing state laws for final paychecks.

Can an employer hold your paycheck for any reason?

No, an employer cannot withhold a paycheck for any reason.

Can an employer withhold a final paycheck?

No, you can't withhold a final paycheck that is due to an employee, even if you fired them.

Which states have no final paycheck laws?

  • Alabama.
  • Arkansas.
  • Florida.
  • Georgia.
  • Mississippi.
  • Missouri.

Should employees provide advanced notice if they are going to quit?

Technically, an employee can quit at any time. However, for scheduling purposes and as a courtesy to their employer, employees should give notice. Most employment agreements actually stipulate a certain length of time that the employee must allow when providing their notice.

Should an employee be removed from the payroll once they quit?

An employee's information can be removed from your payroll system after their last paycheck has been paid out.